Skip to content

Schengen Visa Application Information

A Schengen visa is the legal document issued by an appropriate authority to an interested party travelling to and within the Schengen area. Schengen area is an area which comprises of 26 countries which have agreed to allow free movement of their citizens within this area as a single country. Out of these 26 countries, 22 belong to EU; the remaining 4 are part of EFTA.

This area covers majority of European countries except UK, ROMANIA, BULGARIA, CROATIA, CYPRUS and IRELAND. Schengen member states are

Note: countries like Norway, Iceland, and Switzerland are not part of the European Union.


Who Needs a Schengen Visa

Citizens of non-Schengen member countries are required a mandatory Schengen visa in order to enter any Schengen territory. In order to travel to any of the Schengen country, one is required to apply for a Schengen visa at the appropriate embassy or consulate. Each consulate has its own requirement to be met thou the requirements look similar for all the Schengen countries.





Types of Schengen Visa

Regarding the nature/purpose of the travel, there are several types of a Schengen visa issued by the designated embassy/consulate.


  1. Uniform Schengen Visas (USV)

The Uniform Schengen Visa stands for a permit of one of the Schengen Area Member Countries to transit or reside in the desired territory for a certain period of time up to the maximum of 90 days every six month period starting from the date of entry. According to the purpose of traveling the Uniform Schengen Visa applies to all of the three categories, “A”, “B” and “C”.

  1. Limited territorial validity visas (LTV)

This type of visa obtained allows you to travel only in the Schengen State that has issued the visa or in some other cases, in the certain Schengen States specifically mentioned when applying for the visa. Apart from these Schengen countries, this specific visa is invalid to any other Schengen country not specified prior.

  1. National Visas

The national visa of “D” category is granted to the certain individuals who are to be studying, working or permanently residing in one of the Schengen countries. The national visa can be of a single entry, granted for the people who are in need of residing in the Schengen country for a certain period of time, or for a sole purpose after which they shall return to their country.

Read more information about Schengen Visa Types!

Schengen Visa Fee

When applying for a Schengen visa there is a non-refundable mandatory visa fee every applicant must pay. The visa costs vary depending on the type of visa and age of the applicant as well as some other exceptions stated in the text.

The regular fee (in Euro)

  • Airport transit visa –   60.00 EUR
  • Short stay visa, less than 90 days –   60.00 EUR
  • Long stay visa, more than 90 days –    99.00 EUR

Read more information about Schengen Visa Fee!

Schengen Travel Visa Insurance

Anyone travelling temporarily to a Schengen area from a country that is subject to visa requirements,  be it an individual or group visitors, tourists, or business travelers is required to purchase travel insurance that covers the number of days he/she will be spending in the Schengen Area.

Need assistance with visa application, contact us filling the contact form or call/whatsapp 08038551366


Leave a Comment...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.